Reflection of the Moon

If waters are placid, the moon will be mirrored perfectly. If we still ourselves, we can mirror the divine perfectly.

Becoming still and returning to our natural, original, balanced state seems to be a goal in the Daoist path. In my opinion it sounds similar or is perhaps even the same as enlightenment in Buddhism. Some might say that life is made to be lived with fun and excitement; that this is the road to happiness, but just as much fun as it is to throw pebbles in the pond, only still water can reflect the beauty of the moon. Regular meditation is key to being able to adapt to the challenges that life throws at us. After two weeks of being lazy I’m really working hard on pushing myself into standing meditation each day.

As poetic and philosophical as all this sounds though, it’s just lip service if I don’t accept the fact that I still have ripples in my water, or lose my cool, during the day. After years of Tai Chi (and I’m still just a beginner), I’ve developed superb control of anger, but I still feel incredibly frantic if I am late for something. Just realizing this emotion within me will be the first step towards calming it down.

This entry was posted in Daily Meditations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

